God, Food & Health

I am a Bible believing Christian.  So, for me, I believe as the Bible states that God created the world and everything in it.

Genesis 1:11  Then God said, “Let the land produce vegetation: seed-bearing plants and trees on the land that bear fruit with seed in it, according to their various kinds.” And it was so.

Genesis 1:12  The land produced vegetation: plants bearing seed according to their kinds and trees bearing fruit with seed in it according to their kinds. And God saw that it was good.

After Adam & Eve ate of the Tree of Knowledge and sin came into the world, God knew they would need more to sustain their health and let them eat meat.

Genesis 9:3  Everything that lives and moves about will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything.

Which to me means, that God provides for all our needs.  He provided foods for the nourishment of our bodies, to keep us healthy and if we aren’t healthy, he has provided what  we need to get healthy.  So, if we’re eating food as God intended us to do, we ‘should’ be healthy.  Problem is, that our food these days, is not like the food back in Genesis.  We have modified, changed, added, taken away, etc. to the foods that we eat.

Okay, so thats what I believe and here’s what I’ve done so far this year.

January 2013, my New Years Resolution was to eat healthier.   If you read my blog from the beginning you know that I had medical issues last year, its exactly a year now that I’ve been diagnosed.  Anyway, being on medicines, isn’t really where I want to be, they have side effects, some make you gain weight, etc.  I was on one that made me gain weight, which I didn’t like, in January they allowed me to go off of it.  So, I needed to go on a diet, no, not going on a diet, diets never last.  But, I do want to fit in my jeans. I don’t want to have to ever go back on that particular drug, so, had to do some research.  What foods, could I eat or not eat, that would help my body to be healthy.  Well, there’s allot of information out there.  I knew that our house was full of ‘junk food’  foods not good for anyone to eat.  So, I decided that as these foods were eaten, they wouldn’t be replaced.  In the meantime, more research.

My daughter had me give up dairy last year to help with tummy troubles I was having.  My daughter has been eating healthy for a long time, and recently she’s been even more so.  She eats very little meat, no dairy and veggies.  Now, I couldn’t live without meat, I’m a carnivore, so more research was needed.

In the meantime, while I was depleting the ‘junk food’ out of our lives I was replacing it with more fresh veggies.  I found that eliminating dairy from my diet was a good thing, so became more strict about that.  I eliminated refined sugar, not an easy task because I have an enormous sweet tooth!  So, yes, from time to time I fall off the wagon.  I don’t get mad at myself, I know I’m going to fall/cheat so I allow it, and detox with smoothies the next day.  I must say, its been easier, now that I allow it, I don’t have the guilt.

I suffer from migraines, so I was already off of chocolate & caffeine, once I got off of refined sugar, I stopped drinking decaf and moved on to herb teas.  I now have eliminated refined wheat….well, I’m trying.  I eat bread only when we have company or we go out to dinner.  We eat pasta only a couple times a month.  We are eating more fish and red meat, chicken & pork I try to prepare equally, not more of one or the other.

One of the biggest changes that I’ve made and you can check it out, is lemon water.  Very important.  Just google ‘benefits of lemon water’  you’ll see.  That’s all I drink, is lemon water.  Every time I walk through the kitchen, I stop at the fridge and pour myself a glass and drink it all.  Probably doesn’t sound like a lot but, I personally, walk through the kitchen a lot!  It use to be on the way through, you grab a snack, but now, just a glass of lemon water.

One thing I do know, is God, created us all different.   Psalm 139:13   “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

So, what works for me, might not work for you, you just have to find out what does work for you.  I know, I heard many times on tv that when you go grocery shopping you should only shop the outside isles, and I can honestly say, that now I do!  Every now and again I might have to venture into the rice isle to get rice or quinoa or in the frozen isle to get some frozen blueberries for my smoothies, but other than that, YES! I shop the outer isles!

So, here are photos I took today after coming home for the market.

Well this morning,  in one of my emails was an interesting recipe from The Earth Diets, the Recipe of the Day: Vegan Sole Food.  Well, we are definitely NOT from the South, unless living in South Jersey counts 😉  But, I’m willing to try different things from time to time.  When you check out this recipe and see all the benefits it has you’ll see why I tried it, and it came out very good, so I will be making this again.  Here’s a picture of mine:

Vegan Sole Food

You can eat this as your meal, but since I was making it for the first time and not sure if we were going to like it, I made salmon also.  Cauliflower has enough protein in it that a meat isn’t needed.  The only change that I made to this recipe is I didn’t add onion, I used green onion instead.  For me its a texture thing, its rare that you will see me use an onion.

Hopefully I haven’t bored you & I hope I didn’t get off track, but now that I’ve started this blog, I can just add without going on and on… I hope.

5 thoughts on “God, Food & Health

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Baker Barbs Page | Sweet Dreams Creations

  2. I am intrigued by lemon water – so thanks for the tip. I am 5 weeks into a weight loss and fitness program and I am winning more than losing. It’s nice to snoop though your posts we seems to have a lot in common – quilting, fresh produce, chickens and ponds.

    • It’s amazing how many folks are out there like us! I love quilting, haven’t sewn in 7 years but now its like I never stopped! Glad to hear you like my blogs, yes lemon water is very important, and I can actually see a difference in the way my body behaves if I don’t drink enough. Good luck on your weight loss, you can do it, just keep it healthy, and if you cheat, don’t fret, just detox the next day.

    • I started over to your blog a couple of times but have been interrupted each time, but I will get there! Lemon water, I personally cut a lemon up to 1/2 gallon of water. They also say, and I haven’t done it yet, if I had a lemon tree in my back yard I would, so you be the tester, they say 1/2 a lemon in a cup of warm water, you can add honey if you like.
      http://www.rawforbeauty.com/blog/645-uses-of-lemon-juice-.html

      http://www.theearthdiet.org/10/post/2013/02/ted-lemonade.html

Leave a Reply

