Are Lemons Alkaline?

Lemon

Well today me and the hubby took a trip to ours daughters in Maryland.  Nice day for a road trip.  Anyway, since we left early I didn’t get my morning smoothie, instead we ended up getting coffee at WAWA which I broke down and used the nondairy flavored creamer and we each got a breakfast sandwich, for me the bread though delicious was bad and the cheese.  But it held me all day, until the ride home,we stopped for gas and my hubby came out with 2 Zero Candy bars! Ugggg!

But while we were at our daughters I asked her for a glass of lemon water and she hold me she stopped drinking it for a while.  I asked her why, she said that the acid in the lemon water gave her a canker sore in her mouth.  I told her that it couldn’t have been the lemon water because ever thing I’ve been reading about lemons, that they we alkaline.  So when I got home I had to google and see who was right, I’d be lost if I had to give up my lemon water.

Well this is what I found out about lemons:

Lemons are Alkaline Forming
 
This is because their acids, such as citric acid, are weak acid and the Lemon’s overall nutrients are alkaline. The End Product of Metabolism, otherwise known as Ash and it’s effects on the body make it Alkalizing.
 
Citric Acid is a “weak” acid, meaning once it’s done it’s job in providing energy in metabolism it’s eliminated easily via sweat and respiration. It is alkaline forming in that it stimulates the formation of calcium carbonate in the body. Calcium carbonate then neutralizes the “Strong” acids in the body, acids that can only be gotten rid of through urination, including uric acid which is the end result of protein metabolism.
 
In fruits such as the Lemons… the mineral content is also taken into consideration, and the Lemon’s Alkaline minerals are many, calcium, magnesium, potassium, and Selenium so after the citric acid has done its job and is easily eliminated, one is left with a very Alkaline Ash (end product) from the fruit.
 
In a Similar way, Malic Acid (another “weak” acid) attacks Lactic Acids (A “strong” acid) making foods like Apples and it’s unprocessed vinegar also an alkalizing source.
 
The list goes on… It’s how the elements of the food, inclusive of its “acids” are utilized by the body and whether it’s a weak acid or a strong acid in how it can be eliminated, and the food’s nutrient content such as it’s vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals, etc. that a food’s ash ends up being.

Proteins… they are acidic, not only in their amino acid content, but also in it’s utilization by the body… it leaves Uric Acids as it’s waste product from its metabolism. And we need Citric acid to help our bodies eliminate this Acidic end product (Ash).

Here are some helpful links that I found on Google:

How Can Adding Lemon Juice To Water Make The Water Alkaline?

There are more out there just google ‘is lemon alkaline or acid’  you’ll get a slew of links.  Since I’m not a doctor, I’m doing this research for ME and sharing it with you.  You need to find out whats right for you, but, we need to understand that our bodies were made to be alkaline not acidic,  to get the right body ph right, it begins in our guts, and that begins with what we put into our mouths and swallow.

So, now that I’m home, I’m drinking my lemon water to help reset my ph and flush out what I’ve put in it today.  I will have a strawberry smoothie later on.  My smoothie will consist of: Strawberries, Cucumber, Banana, Celery, Kale and an avocado.  I will sprinkle on top Chia seeds and Flax Seeds.

If  you have any questions or comments please post them, we can learn together.
6 thoughts on “Are Lemons Alkaline?

  1. Hi, thanks for following Trinity’s Kitchen! Hope you find some recipes there to inspire you 🙂
    Love this post of yours. I’ve been drinking lemon juice in water before breakfast for years to help my digestion – I loved finally understanding why it is such a good habit! Thanks for all the great info!

    • Welcome to my blog and thank you for leaving a comment. Glad you found more info on lemon helpful, i know i did.
      I love your blog and recipes, only thing I wish you had a pinterst button, I love to save all my good finds there. But I enjoy the recipes just the same. Thank you and God bless.

      • What a great idea! I have now added Pinterest and Email sharing buttons. I added a Print button as well to make it easier to create a hard copy of the recipes to take to the grocery store! Thanks for the tip 🙂

      • Oh! thank you! glad I could offer some advise! I’m still learning this blogging thing. I’ll go pin the recipes I was interested in. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: To Wheat or NOT to Wheat… that is the question! | Sweet Dreams Creations

  3. Pingback: God, Food & Health | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

