Baking Day

Tonight is our Fishers Of Men, fish dinner at our church.  I was asked to bring cupcakes and to try and keep in the theme.  I love making cupcakes, cakes, desserts or baking of any kind.  So, went to my stash of recipes to try and found one that uses box mixes.  I do make from scratch and I do keep box cake mixes on hand for emergencies.  This not being an emergency, I thought twice, but it is a new recipe for me to try, so, I’ll try it.  Here’s the recipe along with the link, I don’t want to get accused of stealing off the web and any changes that I’ve made.  I didn’t use the name brand on the recipe, didn’t have that particular one on hand, but used another one.  I made 3 different flavors, chocolate, white & key lime.

Cupcakes That Fill Themselves
By Duncan Hines

Cupcakes That Fill Themselves

Cupcakes That Fill Themselves

Ingredients:

1 package Duncan Hines Devil’s Food Cake  (I made 3 batters, 1 chocolate, 1 white & 1 key lime)
(for 3 batches of cupcakes I doubled all the following ingredients)
1 8oz package cream cheese, softened
1/3 Cup Sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1 Cup Chocolate Chips (I used white chips for the white cake and the key lime cake, chocolate for the chocolate cake) They recommend using the mini chips, I didn’t have any of those in the house, so I used regular, they didn’t melt all the way through so you get a nice bite of chocolate chip when you bite into them. I personally like that, a hidden little extra surprise.

This recipe calls for 1 bottle Duncan Hines Amazing Glaze, chocolate.  I made my own icing, the recipe will be below.

Baking Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350°
Prepare cake mix as directed on the package and set aside
In another bowl cream together cream cheese, sugar, salt and egg.  Stir in chips
Place cupcake liners in cupcake tins.  Fill each 2/3’s full.  Drop about a teaspoonful of cream cheese batter onto each cupcake.  DO NOT mix in!  Just leave them and it will fill itself as it cooks.
Bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until tested done.
Cool completely, drizzle with glaze and enjoy!  (I iced mine)
Makes about 30 cupcakes.  (I don’t know how old this recipe is, but I did get 24 out of the chocolate, but the white I got about 18 and the key lime less.  I don’t think the box mixes are as big as they use to be)

You’ll notice that my ‘white’ batter doesn’t look white, thats because I use the whole egg, and my eggs being from my free range chickens make my cake batters really yellow.  Yes, there is a huge difference using free range eggs.

I did get preoccupied and made a blunder.  Those pictures are here too.  The blunder, I noticed when I put the mix into the cups that it was thick, figured it was suppose to be that way, I wasn’t thinking.  Anyway, as they were baking and I was cleaning up, I noticed 3 eggs on the counter………..yup, left the eggs out.  I quickly looked in the oven to see how they were baking and was amazed that they had risen and were baking.  When the time was complete, I took them out, I had to try one, to see how bad they tasted, they were very dry but didn’t taste bad.  Anyway, the chickens love them.

Ooops! I almost forgot to put the icing recipe!  Here goes, this is my own recipe, I call it Butter Cream Cheese Frosting.  I sometimes make changes, so this is tonights version:

1 8oz package of cream cheese, room temp
2 Cups shortening (most of the time I use the butter flavored shortening but today I felt I wanted it to be white)
2 Sticks Unsalted butter at room temperature
8 Cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons almond extract

Cream together the cream cheese, butter and shortening.  Add the powdered sugar 1 cup at a time, mix it in, then add the next cup.  This helps to hold down the powdered sugar ‘dust’.  When all are combined add the extract.  You don’t have to use almond, use whatever you like, depending on your flavor cake.  Then decorate as you wish.  I created 3 different color icings  one for each flavor cupcake, on top I added a Swedish Fish to keep with the theme.

Also, I’m taking with me tonight Low Carb Carrot Sno-Balls.  These are raw and good for you.  I made these special for one of the men at our church whose diabetic.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients
  • ½ c. dates or raisins (if using dates, soak them in hot water for about 10 minutes), I used about 10 Medjool dates
  • ½ c. raw walnuts
  • ½ c. carrot, finely grated
  • ¼ t. salt
  • ½ t. cinnamon
  • ⅛ t. ginger (dried)
  • ⅛ t. nutmeg, freshly grated if possible
  • ¼ t. lemon zest, optional
  • ½ c. unsweetened coconut shreds, for rolling
 Instructions
  1. Pulse the walnuts in a food processor until they are broken up a bit.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients (except the coconut).
  3. Process until everything is well combined.
  4. Pour coconut into a small bowl.
  5. Roll the dough into balls and then into the coconut.
  6. Place on a wax paper-lined plate and then into the refrigerator to set a bit.
  7. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

