Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Bundt Cake

DSC03804
DSC03805DSC03806DSC03807DSC03808DSC03809
DSC03810

I made this Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Bundt Cake for my hubby’s birthday. It’s made of his 2 favorite foods, chocolate and coconut.  I found this most likely on Pinterest.  Here is the link to the blogger that the recipe originated from:  An Affair From The Heart. Just incase, as blogs/recipes sometimes do, the page gets deleted, so here’s the recipe just in case, but do stop by her blog and have a look.

Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Bundt Cake
 
Cake
One Chocolate Cake Mix- prepared according to box instructions
(I have used German Chocolate or Devils Food)
 
Filling
2 egg whites
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups flaked coconut
2 Tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons vanilla
 
Glaze
2 cups powdered sugar
1 Tablespoon butter 2 Tablespoons Milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
for chocolate glaze you can add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa to the above mixture.
(I glaze with both flavors.  Because did I mention how good that puddle of icing int he middle is?!?!)
 
If you’re in a hurry, you can cheat and microwave frosting in a can and drizzle over the top. 
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray your bundt pan with non-stick cooking spray.
 
Prepare cake mix as per box instructions.  In a separate bowl mix up the coconut filling.
 
Pour about 1/2 of the cake mix into your bundt pan. Now spoon filling in a “tunnel” on top of the batter.
Be careful not to let the filling touch the pan.
 Now pour and evenly cover the tunnel with the rest of the batter.  
 
Bake the cake for 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
 
Cool in pan for 20-30 minutes and turn onto a plate to cool the rest of the way.
 
Drizzle with frosting if you desire.
Okay, so here’s what happened to my cake:  First of all I’m bad on judging 1/2 a batter, as you can see from the photos, I put what I thought was have the batter in the bundt pan, then added the coconut mix, then the rest of the batter.  I had tons of coconut mix, but piled 95% of it into the center of the cake mix.  Then spooned the remainder of the mix, around the side gullies of the coconut mixture and drizzled some on top.  As you can see in the photos there wasn’t enough batter to cover the coconut mixture.  That’s my fault.  But I did think that the coconut mixture would sink, and it didn’t.
Another thing, the recipe for the coconut mixture calls for 2 cups flaked coconut, thats what I actually had on hand, but I’m wondering if she meant sweetened flaked coconut that you buy in the baking isle of your supermarket.  I used the organic stuff I got from Tropical Traditions.  So mine, was dry, not as moist looking as what hers appears in her photos.  So, I’m thinking next time I’ll use the sweetened coconut flakes.
The Glaze, that was a recipe I’ve never used before.  I’ve always made glazes with just powdered sugar, a little liquid, like water or milk and then an extract to flavor.  But it was good. And as she states in her blog,  it looks like a giant donut from this angle!  That “puddle” of icing in the middle is the BOMB.  just sayin’….  and that’s exactly how I feel!  I also found out that’s how my youngest son Jeffrey feels, and my oldest son Harry is just out for the cake.
I must say, since I’m not a chocolate person, I’m not the one to critique this cake except for the coconut center.  But, if actions speak louder than words, everyone had seconds.
Leave a Reply

