Vanilla Vegan Overnight Oats

Overnight oats1Overnight oats2Overnight oats3

Vanilla Vegan Overnight Oats, a set on Flickr.

This recipe is wonderful! I just couldn’t wait to share it! I’ve been so busy lately there’s been no time to upload photos to share recipes with you all! So, here is a breakfast recipe for you to try. This is great, you prepare it the night before, and you can prepare for a couple of mornings not just tomorrow, so thats a good thing. This recipe is RAW so thats another good thing!
I don’t know how I came across this recipe, whether it was an email, Facebook or pinterest (its on pinterest now, its on my breakfast board). Anyway, give it a try. It’s good for you and EASY!
Easy is always good for breakfast. I am not a breakfast person, use to be 2 cups of coffee in the morning then something for lunch. I had to come off caffeine, doctors orders, so I moved to decaf, and have been drinking decaf for a year. Well, in January I decided to break the artificially flavored coffee creamer habit, when I did that, I no longer had the need for coffee and moved on to herb teas. Blueberry being my utmost favorite at this time.
If you read my very first blog ‘Hello Everyone‘ you would have read that this past year I’ve been going through some medical stuff, which I haven’t shared the details with the public as of yet, I will, thats going to take time so it will have to wait. But, I went to a new doctor this past week and I’m going to have to have my good cholesterol checked, they would like it to be over 70 and from what I read thats a high goal to set. If I don’t have numbers there I’m going to have to go on medicine. So, I had to research to see how or what I can do to try and get those numbers up there. Luckily, most of what I read HOW TO BOOST YOUR ‘GOOD’ CHOLESTEROL from the Mayo Clinic and most of the stuff it wants me to do I’m already doing, BUT I don’t eat breakfast and oatmeal is on there, and I’ve heard before that oatmeal is a biggie for cholesterol and then came this recipe! So here I am eating breakfast….. well, trying to eat breakfast, I have my tea first and then around 10 I eat my oatmeal.
This recipe is great, because like I said, you make it at least the night before and it has great things in it that I need, and most likely you need too. Remember, I am NOT a medical professional, I am only sharing what I learn with you.
Okay, you’ve waited long enough, here’s the recipe:
VANILLA VEGAN OVERNIGHT OATS
by thehouseofhealthy (thats not a type o thats how they spell it check out the link and their blog)
1/2 cup oats (make sure you use the old fashioned oats not the quick oats, there much better for you)
1tsp ground flax seeds
1tsp chia seeds
1 tsp hemp seeds
1 cup (approximately) Vanilla coconut milk (or any that you choose, I used Vanilla Almond Milk)
Place all dry ingredients in a mason jar. Add milk until it alomst fills the jar. Stir together. Don’t worry if it seems thin, it will thicken up fast! Place in fridge with lid on overnight.
In the morning, open, grab a spoon, and enjoy! They suggest adding blackberries for extra tasty fun I used mango its my favorite!

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Vegan Overnight Oats

    • I’ve been using almond milk, right now I need the addition almonds to help with my HDL. Can’t wait to try with coconut milk, but that won’t happen anytime in the near future. Let me know how you like it.

Leave a Reply

