Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

RhubarbPeeling RhubarbSlice RhubarbPie CrustStrawberry Rhubarb FillingCustard Filling
Ready to BakeStrawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie, a set on Flickr.

Here’s something you didn’t know about me, I am pie crust challenged. I have a fear of dough. I’m working through it, thanks to the Food Network Channel. I’ve learned a lot. I’ve learned not to be intimated by a recipe. So, I’m not going to be intimated by pie crust dough or any other type of dough. I’m going to work my way through it or should I say I’m going to kneed my way through it.  I know, you don’t kneed pie crust, you roll it out, but bread dough and pizza dough you kneed, and that I have problems with.
I haven’t made many pies, and when I do, I generally buy the frozen crusts. But, now, I’m ready to move on and make my own. I’ve made a few pie crusts from scratch (4), yes, 4. So here I am going to make 2 more… yes, 2 more. Pie crust recipes are always for 2 pies aren’t they?? Well, I guess sometime you put one on the top, but I’m not up to conquering that yet!
So, I found this Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Recipe on the web and its for 1 pie, so I’m also going to make a Coconut Custard Pie. I’ll put that recipe up next.
But of course this pie recipe only comes with the strawberry rhubarb custard part of the recipe and I had to search out a pie crust recipe. Both are below with the links where I got them from. I want to give credit where credit is due and its definitely not due here!
The pie crust recipe I made it exact and it came out well, my daughter in law Val, makes pies and she said this came out good and flaky. Flaky is important in pie crusts.
Also, the strawberry rhubarb part I changed and I will mark on the recipe where I made the changes and will keep them that way, as I try to prefect this recipe. If you look at the final photo of the baked pie I don’t think it shows in the photo, but this pie came out a little watery and wasn’t very pleasing to the eye. BUT, they loved it, they ate it all. There was not a crumb left over.
Talking over with my girlfriend, Janet, who bakes allot of pies, said rhubarb is hard to judge, it holds water, so when it bakes it gets watery and of course so does the strawberries. She said it takes some know of the fruits to not get a watery pie.
Enough said.  The pie crust recipe is easy and very good, and of course the Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie one is a keeper too.
So give ’em a try and let me know how it goes for you.

Pie Crust 102
All Butter, Really Flaky Pie Dough

Makes enough dough for one double-, or two single-crust pies.

2 1/2 cups (315 grams) flour
1 tablespoon (15 grams) sugar
1 teaspoon (5 grams) table salt
2 sticks (8 ounces, 225 grams tablespoons or 1 cup) unsalted butter, very cold (after I cube mine up I keep it in the freezer until ready to use)

Gather your ingredients: Fill a one cup liquid measuring cup with water, and drop in a few ice cubes; set it aside. In a large bowl — I like to use a very wide one, so I can get my hands in — whisk together 2 1/2 cups flour, 1 tablespoon of sugar and a teaspoon of salt. Dice two sticks (8 ounces or 1 cup) of very cold unsalted butter into 1/2-inch pieces. Get out your pastry blender (I used my food processor and pulsed it on the dough setting).

Make your mix: Sprinkle the butter cubes over the flour and begin working them in with the pastry blender, using it to scoop and redistribute the mixture as needed so all parts are worked evenly. When all of the butter pieces are the size of tiny peas — this won’t take long — stop. Yes, even if it looks uneven; you’ll thank me later

Pack it up: Divide the dough in half, and place each half on a large piece of plastic wrap. I like to use the sides to pull in the dough and shape it into a disk. Let the dough chill in the fridge for one hour, but preferably at least two, before rolling it out.

Do ahead: Dough will keep in the fridge for about a week, and in the freezer longer. If not using it that day, wrap it in additional layers of plastic wrap to protect it from fridge/freezer smells. To defrost your dough, move it to the fridge for one day before using it.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

Original recipe makes 1 9-inch pie
1 (9 inch) unbaked pie crust (see recipe above)
3 cups rhubarb, sliced 1/4-inch thick (I only used 1 cup rhubarb, thats all I had)
1 cup fresh strawberries, quartered (since I only used 1 cup rhubarb, I used 3 cups strawberries, them I had)
3 large eggs (I use my own Free Range Eggs, so makes my pie look yellow)
1 1/2 cups white sugar
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 tablespoon butter, diced
2 tablespoons strawberry jam
1/4 teaspoon water

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Place rolled-out pie crust in a 9-inch pie plate and set on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.
Combine rhubarb and strawberries in a bowl; transfer to the pie crust, distributing evenly.
Whisk eggs, sugar, milk, flour, and nutmeg together in a medium bowl. Slowly pour filling over rhubarb mixture until it just reaches the top edge of the crust. Scatter diced butter evenly over the top of the filling. Lightly tap and shake the baking sheet to remove any air bubbles.
Transfer pie to the preheated oven and bake, turning halfway through, until rhubarb is tender and custard is set, about 1 hour.
Mix strawberry jam and water in a small bowl; heat in the microwave until warm, about 15 seconds. Glaze the top of the pie with the jam mixture and let cool. Refrigerate until ready to serve.  (I served mine warm, maybe if I had put it in the fridge it would have set up, something I’ll try next time)

I served this with homemade whipped cream. Don’t be scared, this is one of the easiest things you’ll ever make and then you’ll wonder why you buy that stuff in a can or in the frozen food isle.

Leave a Reply

