Happy Memorial Day!

I  know, I know, Memorial Day was yesterday, but I was busy entertaining.  How was your Memorial Day Weekend?  Ours was very nice.  Started out cold here on the East Coast, with everyday getting a little bit better than the day before.  I decided at the last minute to have a small get together, once I knew that the weather was going to be working in our favor.  I just love to have get togethers, of any size, for various reasons, first of course for the wonderful fellowship and then of course, for me anyway, I get to use my guests as guinea pigs!  I think they’re all beginning to love to be my guinea pigs as much as I love having them!

Well, since I’ve changed my eating style/habits I don’t want to bombard my guests with all ‘good for you’ recipes, BUT, I will slip them in.  My menu yesterday, consisted of store bought UTZ Multigrain Tortillas: Whole grain corn flour, corn oil, whole grain brown rice flour, flax seeds, oat fiber, evaporated cane juice, toasted sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, quinoa, soy protein isolate, sea salt. Homemade Mango Salsa ( I made this on the whim, there’s no recipe, just use, mango, cucumber, grape tomatoes (you can use plum, but right now since Jersey tomatoes aren’t in, Grapes have the best flavor) lime juice, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and seasonings of choice.

I also, made bbq spareribs, I always make my ribs in the oven, you have more control over them, and I cook them low and slow,  I actually start out with my oven at 325 then half an hour later turn it down to 300 then another half an hour I turn it down to 275 and keep it there, I generally flip my slab at this time..  I use a dry rub on both sides of the slab and make a bbq sauce on the stove top and brush it on the ribs 1/2 before taking them out of the over, with turning them 15 minutes before taking them out and saucing that side.  I also make my bbq sauce as I feel and at this point I don’t give out that recipe…sorry. I also, grilled chicken legs and thighs, first I marinated them in a garlic italian salad dressing, then after they were just about done cooking added the same bbq sauce that I put on the ribs.  Baked Beans is always a must when I cook a summertime meal for guests.  I use good quality canned baked beans, I also add in a can of black beans and a can of pinto beans, then I add in brown sugar and catsup to taste,  sometimes I put sliced bacon on top.  I cook my beans in the oven set at 425 for about an hour.  We also had corn on the cob, whats Memorial Day without it!  and I also made coleslaw, coleslaw I make different every time, because I’m never happy with it.

Well, this time I used the KFC Recipe that’s been going around and everyone loved it.  So now I know how I’ll be making my coleslaw from now on! Yeah! One less thing to worry about.  So, here’s the recipe along with the link where I got it.  Enjoy. Oh, I will also be adding the ‘guinea pig’ recipes 😉  My one girlfriend, Pam and her hubby are doing the Hallelujah Acres diet and my other girlfriend, Cheryl and her fiancee are eating the way most folks do, but says she wants to start eating better.

So, I made 2 ‘raw’ desserts.  I will be putting the recipes up with photos after I finish here with the KFC Cole Slaw Recipe.  The desserts that I decided to make where: Raw Banana Macadamia Coconut Dream Pie by Fragrant Vanilla Cake and Raw Strawberries and Cream Fudge also by Fragrant Vanilla Cake. Okay, lets begin now with the KFC Cole Slaw Recipe, shall we???

KFC Cole Slaw recipe

KFC Cole Slaw recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup sugar 1/4 cup milk 1/4 cup buttermilk  (If your like me and you don’t keep buttermilk in the house make it Buttermilk Substitute)
2 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
8 cups finely chopped cabbage (approx. 1 head)  (I cheated, I bought the bagged stuff)
1/4 cup shredded carrot (1 medium carrot)
2 tablespoons minced onion

Directions: * Be sure cabbage and carrots are chopped into very fine pieces (a little bigger than rice) * Combine the mayonnaise, sugar, milk, buttermilk, lemon juice, vinegar, salt and pepper in large bowl. Beat until smooth * Add cabbage, carrots, and onions. Mix well. * Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, if you let it sit over night it’s even better. Enjoy!  Let me know how you liked it!

2 thoughts on “Happy Memorial Day!

  1. Pingback: Italian Raw Chocolate Cake | Sweet Dreams Creations

  2. Pingback: Nothing Like a Taste of Summer in the Winter! | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

