Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake

Blueberry Swirl CheesecakeBlueberry Swirl CheesecakeBlueberry Swirl CheesecakeBlueberry Swirl CheesecakeBlueberry Swirl CheesecakeBlueberry Swirl Cheesecake
Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake

Blueberry Swirl Cheescake, a set on Flickr.

I’m really trying to get into eating raw and showing others how to eat raw. I figure the best way to get someone to give it a try is to make them something, but what?? Well, in my previous blog from last week the recipe for the Raw Banana Macadamia Coconut Dream Pie, is definitely a recipe to use on folks who’ve never given raw a try. I haven’t found anyone who didn’t like it yet. I’ve made it twice and had different folks try it and they’ve all loved it, as a matter of fact, my hubby try’s to get them not to eat it to have more for himself! So that in itself says allot!

But, I need to have a few more recipes up my sleeve, so I’m still testing. Today, I made this Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake from the Earth Diet site. It’s not hard to make so give it a try. The folks who already eat raw are going to love it, the folks that don’t eat raw, well, maybe not. My family is very big on texture, and when you tell them they’re eating cheesecake, well, it better taste like cheese cake. They liked the blueberry, they liked the chocolate crust, but the ‘cheesecake’ part, they didn’t like. I liked it.

The only problem I had was the chocolate crust was sticky/gooey it cut well, but didn’t transfer from the pie plate to the plate well, it stuck to the pie cutter. I used maple syrup for the crust is gives you the option of honey or maple syrup, I’m not a big fan of honey so I used the maple syrup, but I don’t see where using one or the other would make a difference in the stickiness. I’m thinking I might use some dates the next time I make this. I think it will help in that area.

As I’m writing this I had another slice so I could be fresh with my comments. I like it, I find no other problems, I don’t have a problem with the texture, its pretty creamy, so I will make this again, only with the addition of dates in the crust.
Let me know if you make this and how it came out and how folks liked it.

Here’s the recipe as written on The Earth Diets site: Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake. Check out their blog when you get a chance that have some nice ideas there. They’ll even send you a daily recipe by email.

BLUEBERRY  SWIRL CHEESECAKE

Total making time: 25 minutes making time (2 hours freezing time)

Serves: 16 slices (makes 2.3 L or 2 1/2 QT)

SUGGESTION: To make a smaller cheesecake just half the recipe!

Ingredients:
For base…
1.5 cup of almond meal (1 cup of almonds blended into a fine meal consistency)
1.5 cup of cacao powder
6 tablespoons of maple syrup or raw honey

OR instead of making the base you could Purchase 7 bars (1.5 oz) of Noah’s Rock’n Raw Chocolates. The photograph below shows the Almond Vanilla Bars.
For cheesecake filling…
3/4 cup of lemon juice (about 2 large lemons)
3 cups of cashews soaked in water for 4 hours
3/4 cup of maple syrup, raw honey or raw agave
3/4 cup coconut oil
1 tablespoon of pure vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

For blueberry sauce…
3/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup maple syrup

Action:
1. Make the base. Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix. It should be dry but moist enough to pat into a pie dish and form a crust. Hand mold it in a large pie dish the size of 2.3L. If you are using Noah’s Rock’n Raw Chocolates as the base, use 3 for the bottom of the dish and 4 for the sides.
2. Make the cheesecake filling. Add all ingredients to a powerful blender like the VITAMIX until it is very smooth and light. Then pour it into the crust.
3. Make the blueberry sauce. Add all ingredients to a blender and mix well. Pour it over the cheesecake. Use a chopstick and swirl it through the cheesecake. Make whatever pattern you like.
4. Freeze for 2 hours. Cut into slices! Keep in fridge or freezer!

Leave a Reply

