Strawberries & Cream Fudge

Strawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream Fudge
Strawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeStrawberries & Cream FudgeS & C Fudge take 2S & C Fudge take 2
DSC03945S & C Fudge take 2S & C Fudge take 2S & C Fudge take 2

Strawberries & Cream Fudge, a set on Flickr.

Okay, here it is…. TWICE! I made this recipe twice, had to, the first time didn’t look at all the way the recipe did…. well, it did, except for the color! It was suppose to be pink! You know, strawberries are red and when you make a recipe with them, generally, something looks pink! Mine didn’t.

So, back to the drawing board…. well, back to the recipe. Hummmm, one thing jumped out at me, the almond butter, it called for raw, I roasted my almonds, as you can see in the photo of ingredients the almond butter in the foreground of the photo is definitely brown. You can see the coconut butter in front of the coconut nectar which is nice and white. I’m also thinking, (and this thought is after 2 batches, that I should have used clear vanilla) and I’m wondering, is all coconut nectar brownish??? That’s something I’ll have to check into, I just googled it, it looks that way.

Well, anyway, batch #1, wasn’t a hit. The name cream fudge, doesn’t fit. It wasn’t creamy. Maybe I didn’t blend my coconut butter long enough, I don’t know. I’m new to this making your own butters. Both the almond and the coconut butters were gritty, but if I remember from eating natural peanut butter, it was gritty, so if your using something gritty, how are you going to have a creamy texture??

Well, maybe the name has to change…. call it strawberry coconut bites??? At least you know its not going to have a smooth texture.

So, figuring that batch 1 may have been all my errors, I needed to make it again. So, once again, I made my coconut butter and my RAW almond butter. You’ll see in the photos that the almond butter was much lighter this time. But after I added the coconut flour to the mix, the color started to disappear, and the texture wasn’t that great, so I added more strawberries.
I served this to a completely different group of test subjects and then me and my hubby were the only ones that had, had both recipes.

Needless to say, take 2, didn’t fare any better than take 1. So, I won’t be making these again.

If you make them, before you serve, test them out yourself and if their not creamy, don’t tell folks their fudge, use the strawberries & coconut bites name.  It could be me, I’m still not use to this eating raw, not that I eat everything raw, as I stated before I’m eating healthy, so allot of what I eat now is raw, but I do eat meat & fish, but I’m choosy what I eat.  I no longer eat dairy, wheat, sugar or processed foods, and yes, I do cheat from time to time, but now I pick and choose where and how I will cheat.

Oh, let me know if you do try this and how it came out for you.

Here is the recipe as written from Fragrant Vanilla Cake:  Raw Strawberries and Cream Fudge pay them a visit when you get a chance I get a lot of my recipes from them.

Raw Strawberries and Cream Fudge
makes about 12 hearts (or 16 squares)3 cups dried, finely shredded coconut
1/2 cup coconut nectar
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
4 Tbsp raw macadamia butter or raw almond butter
1 cup fresh organic strawberries

In a blender, grind one cup of the shredded coconut to flour.  Remove and set aside.  Blend the remaining 2 cups of the shredded coconut to coconut butter and set aside.  In a food processor, place the coconut nectar, sea salt, vanilla, almond butter, strawberries and process until smooth. Add the coconut flour and process until well combined.  Spread out onto a piece of tinfoil in a rectangle 1/2 inch thick, and place in the fridge for about an hour to firm up.
Once firm, cut into hearts with a small cookie cutter (or cut into squares).  Store in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

