Raw Pasta Primavera

Well, for my dads 89th birthday, which was on the 17th of July, he requested lasagna (I already posted the dessert recipes).  So, I made lasagna for him and the family. For me, my daughter MaLinda and my daughter-in-law Val, I made this Raw Pasta Primavera, which I found on The Simple Veganista‘s blog, and is now book marked on my Pinterest Vegan Page.  I forgot to take a picture with the Primavera Sauce on it, but after eating this, its optional.  The Simple Veganista also gives a recipe for meatless meatballs which I didn’t make, one reason being is I don’t like mushrooms.

One nice thing about this recipe is its versitile.  If you don’t eat completely raw all the time, as I do, you can cook the sauce and use it on the raw veggies, or, for the leftovers, sauté them in olive oil and garlic, which I am going to do and serve them with the sauce heated up.  Sounds good, huh?  I know some folks out there are strict follow the recipe to a tee type, but a recipe is only a guide, add what you like, take out what you don’t like.

My oldest son Harry, gave it a try also, he liked it without the sauce, I think if the sauce was heated he would have liked it that way.  MaLinda took some home with her, thats always a good sign that someone likes what you’ve made.  I liked it with and without the sauce.  So, its up to you, how you make it.  Let me know if you added anything or left anything out, and of course how you liked it.

Raw Pasta Primavera

Raw Pasta:

3 Green Zucchini – spiralized, juliened or cut lengthwise on a madeline
3 Yellow Summer Squash – spiralized, juliened or cut lengthwise on a madeline

Add to Pasta:
1 Yellow Bell Pepper – diced
1 Orange Bell Pepper – diced
1/2 large zucchini – diced (I left this out figuring there was enough zucchini in the pasta part)
1 – 2 green onions – thinly sliced

Primavera Sauce

4 Roma, 8 Campari, or 2 large tomatoes of choice.  (Since Jersey tomatoes aren’t quite in yet, I opted….cheated and used a large can of Roma tomatoes with basil)
1/2 cup Sun-dried Tomatoes soaked 1/2 hr – hr (she didn’t say whether they were dry packed or in oil, so I used the ones in olive oil and didn’t soak them)
1 small shallot (I used green onion)
2 tbs extra virgin olive oil, optional (this is why I went with the Sun-dried tomatoes in oil, I eliminated this step)
1 tbs lemon juice (I didn’t add this)
1 tbs garlic powder or 1-2 fresh garlic cloves (I use garlic cloves…3 of them 🙂 )
1/2 fresh basil
pinch or two red pepper flakes
himalayan sea salt to taste

Leave a Reply

