Peach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond Crust

Peach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond Crust
Peach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond CrustPeach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond Crust - Slice

Here I go again, this recipe is adapted from the Fragrant Vanilla Cake: Cardamom Scented Peach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond Crust. I didn’t have Cardamom in the house, nor did I know what Cardamom was, I do now I googled it. So, from what I can gather, not to big of a loss not adding the Cardamom, its basically a scent thing, so we just smelled peaches, which is okay with me.

On the Fragrant Vanilla Cakes directions they used an 8″ tart pan, I didn’t have one I have an 11″ so I used that.  No problem, the crust fit perfectly, I even had/have some left over after doing the topping, so don’t know where I went wrong.  I did have a problem with the dates, I used 24 per the recipe, and I soaked them, but that still wasn’t enough to make the crumbs stick together, so I soaked another 12 and that worked.

This is a very simple RAW recipe, I made it to take with us to our friends house. They do try to eat well, and since I TRY to watch what I eat, its better if I take something with me. This was a hit. I will make it again and again, and I WILL change out the fruit seasonally. Peaches & Blueberries will probably be my next one.

Here’s the original recipe with my changes in parentheses.  In the directions it says to put 3/4 pecans with coconut in the processors for the crumble topping, the pecans are not listed in the ingredients.  I did have pecans on hand so I did use them.

Cardamom Scented Peach Crumble Tart with Coconut Almond Crust
Makes one 8 inch tart (I made an 11″ with leftover crumbles)

Crust:
2 cups finely shredded dried coconut
1 cup raw almonds
1 1/2 cup buckwheat groats, sprouted and dehydrated (or additional coconut) (I used raw buckwheat groats, I don’d do the sprouting thing)
1/2 tsp sea salt
24 soft medjool dates, pitted (if not soft, soak them until they are and drain them) (I had to add 12 more)

Topping:
1 cup flaked coconut
1/2 cup raw almonds

Filling:
4 cups organic peaches, sliced
2 Tbsp. chia seeds
a pinch sea salt
1 tsp cardamom (I omitted the cardamom, I didn’t have any on hand)
1/4 cup raw coconut nectar or raw agave nectar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 Tbsp lemon juice

For the crust, combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until fine crumbs and starting to hold together when squeezed.  Press 2/3 of the mixture into the bottom of a 8 inch removable bottom tart pan, and set aside in the fridge.  Combine the remaining crust mixture with 3/4 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup flaked coconut and toss well.  Set aside in the fridge (this will be the topping).
Place the peaches in a bowl.  Remove 2/3 cup of the them and place in the food processor with the cardamom, chia seeds, sea salt, coconut nectar and vanilla, and lemon juice and process until smooth.  Dump back into the bowl with the peaches and toss well.  Pour the mixture into the tart crust and spread to the sides then scatter the reserved topping over it. Let the pie sit in the fridge for 1 hour to allow flavor to develop and filling to set and then serve!

Give it a try and let me know how you like it. If you made it with the Cardamom or left it out. If you made it with peaches or something else.
Have fun and Healthy Eating!

Leave a Reply

