Puppies, Chicks & a Momma Hen! Oh My!

Oh My!  What a day!

Meet Cooper our newest grand dog.  He’s about 3 months old and looks like a giraffe, but he’s a boxer pup.  So, we have all sorts of babies around here.  Cooper came back with our grand sons, while their folks were off and about.  Tyler loves playing with the kittens, thats our 7 year old grandson, Anthony our 12 year old grandson, not into cats so much, but was taking care of Cooper.

Well, we had Cooper off the leash and in the front yard, and he took off towards the chickens that were free ranging in the pines on the side of the back side of the hen house.  So, my hubby went running, next I heard yelling, so the rest of us went running.  Seems Cooper doesn’t find the kittens enough entertainment, and he saw the chicks! Yikes!

Well, he went after the chicks, the chicks went running in every direction, and momma hen came a yelling, squawking and kicking and pecking at Cooper!  He didn’t find that entertaining at all.  Hopefully he learned his lesson (somehow I doubt it).  We got Cooper back on the leash and away from the chickens, we went back to check on the chicks.  Momma Goldie was with 2 of them, my hubby found 1 and scooted it towards momma, who was not happy and clucking for her babies.  Okay, she had 3, now to find the other 2.

If you know anything about free range chicks, when danger is near they hunker down.  When they hunker down, they DON’T move.  Now you try and find a black chick under the pine trees hunkered down….ain’t gonna happen.  Took me a while I did find the other white one, picked her up and she proceed to scream her little head off.  Momma Goldie who was all the way down the other end of the pines with the 3 found chicks came running (I think she could have won a race as fast as she came, but she left the other 3).  Not only did she come running, she came ready to kill.  So, I’m trying to calm her and get the baby back to her.  When I put the chick down, it ran to hide again, and Goldie came at me one more time, in that instance, baby #4 was once again hunkered down.  I couldn’t find her, and Goldie went back to the 3.  So I searched, and searched and searched to no avail.  So I decided I’d go down to Goldie and the 3 chicks and try and herd them back to the area where the white chick was last seen.   That took a while since she was still frazzled from the whole ordeal, I know because I was just as frazzled.

Anyway, I got her and the 3 chicks to the area where #4 chick was last seen and her clucking got the chick to come to her.  Yeah! 4 chicks reunited!   Now, where is that 5th chick!  Uggggg.

In the meantime, when I was searching out chick #4 I came across a nest of 5 eggs, the girls must of been laying there on those hot days!   Egg production wasn’t down, they were just too hot and lazy to go back to the nests!

I knew that it had to be in the area where chick #4 was found, that was the general area where all the action happened, there’s a lot of brush on the other side of the pines, allot of places to hunker down, and I didn’t want to tread too far, I was fearful of stepping on the little one.  So, I kept Goldie and babies in the area.  I would walk away for a bit, then go back and check on her and the little ones.  I also said a few prayers.  I’m telling you, had to be well over an hour after she found chick #4, when I went back to check on her for the 10th time, chick #5 was there!  Whew!!!!  Thank you Jesus!  I love answered prayer!

So, if all that wasn’t enough, we go to see if everyone has come back from free ranging and momma Goldie and the 5 chicks are in the hen house getting ready to go to bed.  So, we got them some fresh water and food and just stood there to watch them.  Well, wouldn’t  you know it, I guess with all the stress she had today, she decided that it was time to take the chicks off the floor at night and into the nests where they lay their eggs (every mom has done this so far)  So, we watched, momma Goldie gets up in the nest and calls to the babies.  You can see from the fuzzy photo how they were trying so hard to get up to her.  Only one made it, so she gave up, after a bit and they settled back in their corner on the floor.  I bet tomorrow, they make it.

That’s enough stress for one day, I can’t take any more.

Have a blessed night, everyone.

2 thoughts on “Puppies, Chicks & a Momma Hen! Oh My!

    • Is the just adorable! They almost lost him a week after they got him, he had parasites, was so sick. He has made almost a full recovery now. That little pink nose wasn’t pink, he was so ill.
      I too am glad all chicks are found.
      Thanks for reading my post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

