Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread

Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 1Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 2Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 3Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 4Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 5Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 6
Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 7Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 8Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 9Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 10Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 11Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 12
Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 13Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 14Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 15Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 16Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread - Step 17

Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread, a set on Flickr.

Zucchini Green Chili Cornbread adapted from Cook Eat Live Vegetarian

When I first came across this recipe, possibly on Facebook, I come across allot on there, I shared it with my daughter. She said, ummmm, you have to make this for me sometime! Well, that sometime, was last night.

As I said before, our daughter lives over an hour away in another state, so we don’t always get to see her too often. Well last night she came to visit and stay the night with our grand daughter, always a blessing.

Knowing they we’re coming, I asked my grand daughter what she’d like to have for dinner, and chicken was the answer (not our chickens). So, off to plan a menu, 12 year old grand daughter friendly. As I was thinking, what I’d make along with the chicken, since my daughter does NOT eat poultry and is gluten free also, could be a little bit of a challenge. I knew I had to have allot of vegetables. While I was racking my brain on what to make, I remembered this recipe which I saved on my Pinterest Breads Muffins & Pizza board. I also decided on grilled eggplant would be one, along with steamed broccoli, and potatoes for our grand daughter. I forgot to buy the potatoes….no worries I had hash browns in the freezer which would be perfect to fry up with shredded zucchini, since I was already shredding zucchini for this recipe.

There were 5 of us for dinner, our daughter, grand daughter, my 89 year old dad, me & my hubby. My dad lives in our garage apartment, so whenever we have a special dinner with one or all of the kids we make sure he’s here to catch up. Anyway, out of 5 of us, only 3 of us, my daughter, my dad and me, will eat anything spicy, so this bread was going to be just for us. 😉

It a relatively easy recipe to follow, I made a few changes, since the recipe uses wheat flour & milk, I changed it to gluten free and dairy free. I also used both red & green jalapeños, I like color.

We all loved the bread, I had one problem, it, didn’t get done in the center. I did stick a cocktail stick in it to check and it came out clean… next time I’ll bake it a little longer. Also, next time, I’ll probably do this in muffins or mini muffins. Other than that, no problems.

So, here is the recipe as written on Cook Eat Live Vegetarian’s blog, along with the changes I made in parenthesis & in pink. Let me know if you make it, what changes you make and how you liked it!  Enjoy!

Zucchini Green Chilli Cornbread

Makes 1 small loaf, vegetarian. Adapted from Curry & Comfort

Wet Ingredients:

  • 220 ml (1 cup) milk (I used goat’s milk) (I used almond milk, its what I had)
  • 100 gr (1 cup) grated courgette/zucchini
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 large onion, finely chopped (I used green onion, I like it better)
  • 55 ml (1/4 cup) olive oil
  • 2 green chillis/jalapenos, finely chopped (I used red & green jalapeños, mostly red)

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1  1/4 cups cornflour (arepa flour) or polenta/cornmeal
  • 1  1/4 cups  plain flour (I used gluten free multi purpose flour)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried chili flakes
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric (for colour) not necessary if you are using polenta/cornmeal (even though I used cornmeal I still added the turmeric, because of its health benefits)
  • 1 few sprigs of fresh thyme leaves removed
  • 60 gr (1 cup) grated cheese (I used Manchego & Red Leicester) plus extra for topping (I used grated parmesan, and yes, I know, that counts as dairy)

Preheat oven to 350º Put all the wet ingredients in one bowl and whisk together well.  Sieve the 2 flours into another bowl and add the rest of the dry ingredients to that bowl, mix well.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just combined, do not over mix or it will be tough.

Oil and flour a loaf tin or baking dish (or line with baking paper). Tip the batter into the loaf tin/baking dish and even out the top.

Bake for 30 minutes then remove from the oven and sprinkle over a thin layer of grated cheese. Return to the oven for 5 minutes or until a cocktail stick stuck in the middle comes out clean. Leave to cool slightly before removing from the tin.

Slice and serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

