What’s For Dinner???

Okay, every now and again I will ask my hubby what he’d like for dinner.  We were in the grocery store on Saturday and since we were there and dinner wasn’t too far off I thought I’d let him choose what’s for dinner.  So, the question was:  What would you like me to make for dinner??  The answer….. Crab Cakes.  Okay, we’ll they’re not hard to make, but I knew in the back of my head, I didn’t have any homemade gluten free bread crumbs at home to make crab cakes, so I said, how ’bout Crab Imperial instead???  Okay, yes, that has dairy in it, but sometimes, I’ll sacrifice and have a little dairy, it doesn’t hurt me as much as gluten does…well, most of the time, so I picked my poison 😉  He said Crab Imperial was fine with him.  So, a little more grocery shopping and a walk down the ethnic foods isle and I noticed something I hadn’t seen before, NEW! from Asian Creations, THAI Kitchen, Purple Corn & Rice Noodles!  Had to have it.  Love the purple color, some meals need a little splash of color, and these noodles might just be the answer!

Crab Imperial with Sautéed Broccoli tomatoes & Purple Corn Thai Noodles

Crab Imperial with Sauteed Broccoli, Tomato & Purple Corn & Rice Noocles (click on the photo to see it larger)

So, on the ride home, I knew I was making the Crab Imperial, but now I needed a side to go with it.  I think I’ll do something with my new noodles.  I had broccoli at home in the fridge, and we still have Jersey tomatoes out in the field and also some bell peppers, so I had a plan, now to bring it all together.

When we got home I sent the hubby out to the field to pick me some fresh Jersey tomatoes & bell peppers.  The plan, sautéed broccoli & tomatoes with purple corn & rice noodles.  The bell pepper was for the crab imperial.

Now, I’m not going to give you a recipe here, I’m going to give you a list of ingredients that I used but no amounts.  You can do this on your own, its easy.  Use what is in season and use what your family likes.  It has been an extremely long time since I made Crab Imperial, so I did google a couple recipes and pulled up the Food Networks, Food Nation recipe which I only used as a guide, I did change it to suit my needs, I will supply the link to the recipe so you can use it if you like.   I have girlfriends that think its hysterical when I use a famous persons recipe and change it, but like I say all the time, A Recipe Is Only A Guide.

Crab Imperial

Crab Imperial (Recipe here at the Food Network, Food Nation, by Colleen Sadler)

MY INGREDIENTS LIST:
Green Onion
Small Bell Pepper
Olive Oil
Unsalted Butter
1 – 1 lb Can Premium Lump Crabmeat
Old Bay Seasoning
Salt & Pepper
Mayonaise
Yellow Mustard
Worcestershire sauce
Heavy Cream
Sauté green onion & green pepper in olive oil butter until translucent, but not brown. Turn down to low heat.
Add crabmeat, add old bay seasoning a little at a time.  Taste!  It’s important to keep tasting to make sure your getting the flavor that you like.  If you need more seasoning add it.  Stir in mustard, mayonnaise and Worcestershire sauce then add the cream. Add salt & pepper to taste. Put in buttered casserole.

Bake for 25 minutes in a preheated 375 degree F. oven, until browned and bubbly.  Serve.

Sautéed Broccoli tomatoes & Purple Corn Thai Noodles

SAUTEED BROCCOLI, TOMATOES & PURPLE CORN AND RICE NOODLES

My Ingredient List:
Green Onion
Garlic
Olive Oil
Unsalted Butter
Roma Tomatoes
Broccoli
Asian Creations, THAI Kitchen, Purple Corn & Rice Noodles
Salt
Heavy Cream (optional)
Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb Seasoning
Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

The Purple Corn & Rice Noodles are very easy to prepare, you bring the water to a boil, take off the burner add the noodles and let steep for 7 minutes, DONE!  So, what I did, I brought the water to a boil, added salt, added my broccoli, cooked my broccoli for a couple of minutes, then took the pot off the burner and added the noodles.  The Noodles are in packets, which is really nice, you don’t have to worry about how much to use, I used 1 packet.

New! Purple Corn & Rice Noodles Purple Corn Thai Noodles Broccoli & Purple Corn Thai Noodles Broccoli & Purple Corn Thai Noodles Sautéed Broccoli tomatoes & Purple Corn Thai Noodles

While then noodles and the broccoli were steeping for 7 minutes, in a sauté pan, I heated the olive oil & butter, then added the garlic & green onion which I chopped.  Once the garlic & green onion simmered for a bit, I added the roma tomatoes that I chopped.  I sautéed the tomatoes, onion & garlic for a minute or two, my timer went off for the broccoli & noodles which then I scooped out and added to the the tomato sauté.  I added some Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb Seasoning and a little salt.  Taste.  Then I added a little heavy cream, this step is very optional, well, any step is. Taste and adjust flavors.   Add what you like remember.  I think my brain was saying if there’s cream in the Crab Imperial, you might as well add a little to the side.

Plate, then sprinkle with the fresh grated parmesan cheese and serve.

Leave a Reply

