Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars 1Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars 2Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars 3Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars 4Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars 5Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars, a set on Flickr.

Hello Everyone! I know, its been about 3 weeks since I’ve posted! Vacations will do that, at least I posted a few good places to eat along our vacation trail, I do have a couple more I’ll be posting, I AM so behind! I have allot of thing to post I think you’ll like.

But, right now, I just made this Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars recipe, I found it on Facebook yesterday and today I decided to bake and this is the recipe I chose to start with.

For some reason, I feel like I’ve really accomplished something, if I’ve baked. Does anyone else feel that way??

Well, like I said this recipe was on Facebook, via Tropical Traditions. This is the link to the original recipe posted on Tropical Traditions written by Sarah.

Don’t get frantic like everyone else did when you read the recipe, there is NO flour! The coconut cream Concentrate takes place of that.

You will notice that I put all my ingredients except for the chocolate chips into a pint jar. That’s because my blender is an Oster and I can attach the blades to canning jars which is really neat. Next time though I will use a quart jar. The reason I’m using the canning jars is because they’re smaller in size than the large blender container, which will keep the mixture from flying all over the sides and top, I think thats a little wasteful.

Also, you will notice that I didn’t use regular chocolate chips. I had purchased this bag of Enjoy life Mini Chips when I was last at the grocery store, the ingredients are: Evaporated Cane Juice, Natural Chocolate Liquor (non-alcoholic) & Non-Dairy Cocoa Butter. I figured since the recipe was gluten, dairy, sugar & nut free, that the chocolate chips should be good to eat also. Oh, I didn’t have pumpkin puree I had canned pumpkin, I don’t know what the difference is, but it seemed to work just the same.

So here’s the recipe, but do go and check it out on Tropical Traditions site, thats where I buy my Coconut Cream Concentrate.

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP BARS

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil (just for coating the pan)
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup Coconut Cream Concentrate, melted
1/3 cup raw honey
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees ºF and grease an 8×8 baking dish with coconut oil.

Combine all ingredients (except chocolate chips) in a food processor or blender and puree/blend until combined. Pour the mixture into the prepared dish and add the chocolate chips, spreading them all around.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean!

Let cool for about 10 minutes, then cut into bars and serve.  I’m a little cautious when it comes to pumpkin for some reason.  After the bars completely cooled I stored them in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

