Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto’s Disease & Me

Hello everyone!  I know, I know, its been a while, and I apologize its my fault.  LOL!  It has to be my fault!  I’m the one that does the writing!  Well, there’s been allot going on and even though thats no excuse that’s the one I’m going to use.  We’ve been traveling and I have a health issue, which of course is in the title!  That’s what I’m going to discuss here.  I will be adding at least one more post not related to this one to catch my readers up on Buddy’s Flock and if I get time I will post some recipes for those who are following those.

Now, before I get to the nitty gritty, I really would love any input that any of my readers have on this subject.  I’m learning and I WANT to heal myself naturally and not go on any life time drug regime.  Just a reminder, I am a Bible believing Christian and from time to time in my blog I may insert a Bible verse or 2, I welcome any comments or questions that you may have on the Bible.  I believe that God wrote the Bible, and that the Bible is our handbook to follow, it gives us the answers that we need if we just turn to it and look for them, they’re there.  I also do believe that God gave us doctors to intervene medically when natural healing can’t occur, like with my cranial aneurysm.  I also believe, that in our present day circumstances that going to the doctor and getting a pill to fix our problems is an easy out, which if your turning to diet and herbs and research for natural alternatives isn’t going to be as easy but the end result will be way worth it.  Do we really need to be running to the doctor for every little thing?  I don’t think so.  But that is MY opinion, and in this blog, this is all my opinion, your opinion is yours, but if your searching or questioning or just curious, follow me on this up coming journey, I don’t know where its going to lead but right now I have at least 4 months to try and heal this problem myself, naturally.  I believe that God will ultimately show me the right path to follow if I pray and listen to what he has to say or show me.  (Matthew 7:7-8 Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.)  Herbs and Spices are mentioned in the Bible 4466 times.  If this interests you, you can check it out here on the Bible Gateway.

Okay, so here we go.  A quick summery:  January 2013 I was at my GP’s office for a check up, the PA noticed that my thyroid seemed enlarged and she sent me for an ultra sound.  The ultra sound showed that I had a couple nodules and the plan was to just keep an eye on them.  Of course during that time I was dealing with the anerysm so I completely forgot about the thyroid.

After, the aneurysm was taken care of, I switched GP’s.  My new GP sent me for routine blood work which included thyroid and cholesterol testing.  My thyroid counts came back good except for my  Thyroid Peroxidase (Tpo) Ab and my choleserol  numbers started moving (results will be posted below).  My GP called for me to come into the office, uggggg, I knew this wasn’t going to be good so started doing some research (which we’ll cover later).  Needless to say, she wanted me on thyroid medicine immediately, saying my thyroid was shutting down and basically going to die.  Sent me away with a prescription, which I filled but never took.  The following day I had an appointment with my cartiologist (just so happened to have been scheduled the year before) so I took my bloodworm results to him, knowing he was going to want to put me on a statin drug, I was prepared to battle with him over that.  The battle was horrible, he did say for me NOT to take the thyroid meds and to make an appointment with a Endocrinologist as soon as possible, but for the cholesterol I needed to take a statin drug immediately, I let him think he won, and walked out with an RX in hand, which I never filled.

I came home from the cardiologist, did some research, found a Homeopath doctor about an hour away and made an appointment.  Went to the Homeopath and she ordered repeat blood work to see if the numbers were just a fluke or reality,  the cholesterol started to drop but the thyroid was even more crazy.  In the meantime, she put me on a detox/cleanse called BodyAnew Cleanse (it was once called a Detox) the cheapest place I found it is on Vitacost), which has helped with my fatigue.  Upon my repeat visit to the Homeopath she concurred that I needed to see the Endocrinologist and said that I had Hashimoto’s Disease.

Luckily I had made the appointment with an Endocrinologist up in Philadelphia, PA when the cardiologist recommended to, so the appointment was a few days after the trip to the Homeopath.  So off to the Endocrinologist I went.  The Endocrinologist concurred that I do indeed have Hashimoto’s Disease and explained to me that after looking at the blood test results and the ultra sound report that the combination of results shows it, but, I have time!  Drugs aren’t needed at this point, he says from the blood work that I have given him my thyroid is most likely working at 75%.  I am to get blood work done now and then again with an ultrasound of my thyroid in 4 months right before I have to go back to him.  So that gives me 4 months to see what I can do naturally.

So that’s the quick version.  Below I’m going to add my blood work and ultra sound stats to date, I know some of you want to know.   Also, below that I’m going to add my plan of action with links, also to date, as I research I’m sure I will be changing or adding something.  I look for any input of  useful information that has worked for others.

Tyroid Ultra Sound 8/8/13
3 small nodules 2 in the right lobe and 1 in the left lobe.  The right nodule measures 4 x 3 mm and is upper pole solid nodule, the other is 5 x 3 mm mid interpolar
The left nodule measures 8 x 4 x 4 mm and is upper poe solid nodule
The Endocrinologist says they don’t worry until they reach 10 mm.
Also the report says: Grayscale and color Doppler sonogram of the thyroid demonstrates normal-sized both lobes, with mild heterogeneous echotesture and normal vascular flow. (the heterogeneous, is the key word in diagnosis)

Blood work 3/4/14
Thyroid:
Tsh – 1.370 Normal
Thyroxine (T4) – 5.6 Normal
Thyroid Peroxidase (Tpo) Ab – 297 High (Normal range is 0 – 34)
Triiodothyronine, Free, Serum – 1.8 Low (Normal range is 2.0 – 4.4)

Cholesterol:
Total Cholesterol – 278 High (Normal range 100 – 199)
Triglycerides – 75 Normal
Hdl (healthy/good cholesterol) – 98 Normal
Vldl Cholesterol Cal – 15 Normal
Ldl (bad) Cholesterol – 165 High (Normal range 0 – 99)

NOW, I did some research, none of which any of my doctors want to even take into account on cholesterol.  Seems there is a way to check your cholesterol ratio to see exactly how good/bad you are.  You can find the calculator here at How to Calculate Cholesterol Ratio.  When I followed the calculator for my Hdl you divide your Hdl into your Total, so 278/98 = 2.84 which is within the normal range which should be below 5.0 and if less than 3.5 is considered ideal.  The ratio for Ldl is done by dividing your Ldl by you Hdl which mine 165/98 = 1.69 and the value should be below 3.5 and ideally below 2.5  So according to this I’m good, (according to the AHA they don’t use ratios).

Also, doing research I found that when your thyroid is messed up it effects your cholesterol, again, my doctors don’t want to hear this.  Here is a little blurb of one of the pages I found: Millions of Americans are trying to lower their cholesterol through improved diet, exercise, and even cholesterol-lowering drugs. For some of these patients, thyroid testing and subsequent treatment for hypothyroidism can restore the body’s metabolism to normal and result in lower cholesterol levels and decreased heart disease risk. In some cases, they may even be able to, under their doctor’s direction, go off the cholesterol-lowering drugs.  Taken from: The High Cholesterol Thyroid Connection.  Do your research, there’s more out there this is just one of the links I found.

Blood Work 4/15/14
Thyroid:
TSH – 5.120  High (Normal range 0.450 – 4.50)
Thyroxine (T4) – 6.7 Normal
Trilodothyronine (T3) – 103 Normal
Thyroid Peroxidase (Tpo) Ab – 454 High (Normal range 0-34)
Thyroxine (T4) Free, Direct, S – 1.10 Normal

Yeah my Tpo went up even higher!  I’m not a happy camper, even though my T4 Thyroxine went up to normal.

Cholesterol:
Cholesterol, Total – 231 High (Normal range 100 – 199)
Triglycerides – 82 Normal
HDL (healthy) – 71 Normal
Vldl Cholesterol – 16 Normal
Ldl (bad) – 144 High (Normal range 0 -99)

My total cholesterol along with my HDL and LDL all came down, I was hoping my HDL would stay higher.  So my ratio’s change too, 231/71 = 3.25 which is within the normal range which should be below 5.0 and if less than 3.5 is considered ideal.  The ratio for Ldl is done by dividing your Ldl by you Hdl which mine 144/71 = 2.02 and the value should be below 3.5 and ideally below 2.5  So according to the ratio’s I’m still good but I have work to do again.

What happened besides the fact that my thyroid is messing with my numbers, I got very confused when researching diet and thyroid and diet and cholesterol.  They don’t go together, they almost contradict one another.  Here’s a sample of what I mean:

Your Heart Healthy Grocery List (taken from: WebMD: Cholesterol & Triglycerides Health Center)

Fresh Fruits and VegetablesLoaded with vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients, fruits and veggies also have fiber, which lowers cholesterol and improves heart health. Pull them out first when you want something to eat. Remember, you need 5 cups of fruits and vegetables a day.

  • Apples
  • Berries
  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Dark leafy greens
  • Eggplant
  • Grapes
  • Kale
  • Oranges
  • Pears
  • Squash
  • Tomatoes
  • Zucchini

Foods to avoid for Thyroid health (taken from Elephant Journal:Natural Ways to Heal your Thyroid)

Avoid goitrogens

“Goitrogens” are naturally-occurring thyroid-inhibiting compounds that are found in several species of plants and vegetables. Anyone experiencing decreased thyroid function would be wise to avoid the following foods:

  • Kale
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Rutabagas
  • Radishes
  • Turnips
  • Cabbage
  • Brussels sprouts

Okay, see what I mean?? All the things I truly LOVE to eat are on that list!  So I went into a little melt down.  I was in a state of confusion as to what I should or shouldn’t be eating and raw vs. cooked.  I had been eating way more raw than cooked, now looks like I have to move on to or back to cooked.  I also admit, I don’t eat allot of fish, its not that I don’t like it, I have no problem eating fish, its just that its not my favorite.  So I’m going to start eating some sort of fish 3 times a week, but I have to research and make sure what I’m eating is doing me good.

So, now that I know that I have Hashimoto’s Disease, I started to research that and I’m going to see what changes I need to make in my diet and possibly life style and I will blog as I find new things and change things.   I’m going to post some links here that I’ve found interesting and/or helpful.

Hashimoto’s vs. Hypothyroidism: What’s the Difference?

Funny thing, when I started researching on how to heal this naturally, first thing to come up is go gluten free!  Well, I’ve been gluten free, dairy free and preservative free for a year, but not strict and I was eating like 75% raw.  I was eating allot of the “goitrogins” which I LOVE now have to limit.  I, like allot of folks will tend to slip from time to time, vacations make it hard and even harder is eating at a friends or a party, at least eating out I can eat a salad.  Now, for the next 4 months I’m going to be strict and disciplined.

One other thing, I’ve decided I’m not going to go back to the homeopath doctor.  This is not anything I’ve read or heard, after a few visits, I don’t feel this is the road I’m suppose to go down.  I think I’m looking more for herbs and possibly acupuncture.  So that being said and giving it allot of thought and prayer, it struck me just this morning, that, I am already involved with Essential Oils, where do these oils come from??? Plants and herbs…. man, what a wake up call.  So I pulled out my essential oils book and found some oils that might just help me.  I am a Young Living Essential Oil distributer so this is where I get my oils they are therapeutic grade which is very important with oils.  (I am not here to sell you oils, but just to let you know where I get mine, I became a distributer to get my oils at a better cost.  If your interested you can check the Young Living here, you can even join if you wish, the cost is just spending a certain amount and your in)

Anyway, part of my healing process is going to be using the oils.  I will fill you in on that as soon as I make up my mind and place my order.  Also, as soon as I figure out my new eating regimen I will post that too.  For the present I’m just gluten free, dairy free & additive free, there is definitely more to come.

Please remember, I am NOT a physician, I am NOT suggesting this is for anyone, this is what I am doing for my personal being and I hope & pray that it works.  I really don’t want to have to go on meds for the rest of my life.

2 thoughts on “Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto’s Disease & Me

  1. Pingback: Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto’s Disease & Me THE DIET | Sweet Dreams Creations

  2. Pingback: Herbalist vs. Hashimoto’s | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

