Goldie is Broody Again! and Some Updates on the Flock

It’s always so exciting when a hen goes broody isn’t it??  Maybe its my maternal side, but I can never get enough of broody hens and baby chicks!  We moved Goldie from the nest box to the broody box with 9 eggs on May 10 and the eggs are due to hatch on May 31! I can’t wait!  Goldie went broody last July and sat on 8 eggs of which 5 hatched.  Prince Charming who is now our head rooster (more on that in a minute) was one of Goldie’s hatchlings.  Goldie is the best mama hen we’ve had thus far.  In October she was still with her brood, you can see the photo of her with them here.  She actually never left the chicks, they finally just grew apart.  I can’t wait to see if thats how she is again.

Okay, I said I give you some updates, I’m a tad behind of that and I apologize.  On March 20th, Buddy and Prince Charming had a battle for the hierarchy of the flock.  Buddy lost.  If you remember back to May 4 of last year I posted ‘I Just Can’t Believe It!‘ Buddy and Reds had the same sort of battle and Reds won, Buddy got badly hurt but I nursed him back and we re-home Reds.  We shouldn’t have re-homed Reds because he won, we really should have re-homed Buddy, but I couldn’t bear to do that, I loved my Buddy, he was our first rooster and man is he good at what a rooster does.  Well, this time, we were home when this happened and my hubby separated the 2 guys.  My hubby said I had to decide what I was going to do with the roosters because they were out to kill each other.  I decided to re-home Buddy this time, he had never been the same since the last battle and I need to have a more alert rooster around here.  So, I sent out a plea to my girlfriend Sandy who has 3 chickens to take him.  She spoke with her hubby and he said yes!  Buddy is now the proud rooster of 3 hens and everyone is happy.

After that Prince Charming settled into being the head honcho and is very good at it, almost as good as his dad.  Prince Charming being a very young head rooster, he’s not a year yet, is taking very good care of his flock, so much so that ALL the hens are bald or nearly bald!  Buddy never did that, he’s very gentle with his girls.  They say a good number of hens per rooster is 9, we have 12 at this point, we re-home a few and my Lucy was one of them, she hadn’t been laying and my hubby said she had to go.  She was my girl, she would sit in my lap and just snuggle, I do miss her, none of my other hens are nearly that friendly, they all do eat out of my hand and right now only Mama (my RIR) and Saltie are the only ones I can pet.  Then there’s Fluffy.  Fluffy is now about 6 months old, she is the only survivor of 3, the other 2 were taken by hawks see my post on Terror in the Chicken Yard! Fluffy must have some sort of birth defect, she’s perfectly fine, except she does have a slight limp and she’s downy instead of feathers, she currently is sporting pin feathers on her head, we’ll see what happens there.  She is laying, so no problems there.  So, we just watch her try to fit in.  I don’t know if she knows she’s different, and of course she’s the youngest of the flock and the lowest in the pecking order and the others let her know that.  But she’s determined and she’s right there with them all and all that fluff makes her look big, which is a plus.

So, currently we have 12 hens (11 laying & 1 broody) and Prince Charming.  I hope that Goldie’s eggs hatch to be hens.  I need a few more.  If you check back on my post on Finally, We Have a Broody Hen where I tried to select the eggs that should produce hens, that didn’t work.  So, I’ll just let nature take its course.

Leave a Reply

