Herbalist vs. Hashimoto’s

mortar-pestle-fresh-herbs

Well, I decided to drop the homeopath and I’ve decided to take my problems to an herbalist.  I just didn’t click with the homeopath and wasn’t sure that’s the path I was suppose to be headed, but the direction of the homeopath just didn’t feel right.  (If your new to this blog, you might want to also have a look at my other 2 pages to thoroughly understand where I’m coming from:  Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto’s Disease & Me and Hypothyroidism, Hashimoto’s Disease & Me THE DIET)

So i did some searching and found a very nice herbalist in Delaware.  Yeah it’s a little far, it’s over the bridge but the ones in New Jersey are even farther, they’re up in North Jersey.  So, I had a little discussion with my girlfriend Pam, and she decided she’d like to go also.  So the both of us went together.  We always have fun together no matter where we go and this trip was no different.

The herbalist sets aside an hour for your first visit and asks you what your problems are and what your goals are.  Of course mine is to heal my Hashimoto’s, them heal my gut, and heal my osteoporosis.  They’re my big three.  So then he has a long list of questions & symptoms check list to ask you based on the information I gave him and he comes up with a diagnosis.  His diagnosis is Intestinal Dysbiosis, how ’bout that, it’s a gut thing, just like I’ve been reading and saying, if your guts not healthy your going to get sick.  We need to have healthy guts.

So now what??  A 3 week detox with diet and herbs.  Luckily I’m pretty much there with the diet, just a few more changes:
Always Drink Plenty of WATER
Allowed foods:  all types of meats, poultry, seafood, eggs, cheese, butter, cream, oil, nuts, all vegetables, all salads, heathy low calorie sweeteners, low calorie fruits like berries. (Now remember, I’m dairy free, so cheese is off the list for me)
Restricted foods: bread, pasta, cereals, rice, sweet fruits, juices, sweets, sugars, candy, cake, snack chips, crackers, NO CARBS first 3 weeks
ALLOWED FOODS IN DETAIL:
Grains: NO GRAINS OR BREADS
Dairy: all dairy products okay except if sweetened like ice cream or flavored yogurt.  Greek yogurt is good. (I’m diary free so won’t be having this anyway)
Oils: Using only high quality oils & fats are key to reducing inflammation: olive, sunflower, canola, evening primrose oil, fish oils, flax oil, borage oil, coconut oil.  Use healthy quantities unless you have a weight problem.
Fruits: you may use these low sugar fruits: grapefruit, fresh or frozen blueberries, strawberries, pears, raspberries, lemon or coconut.
Vegetables: well cooked vegetables, asparagus, cucumber, celery, green peas, onion, broccoli, lettuce, okra, beans, green beans, carrots.  Eat vegetables freely.
Spices: cumin, ginger, salt, dill. Cardamom, fennel, chamomile or ginger tea, turmeric
Proteins: chicken, turkey, eggs, pork, beef, soy, fresh fish, cashews, almonds and all nuts except peanuts.
Oils: all oils are ok except for low quality oils.
PROHIBITED FOODS IN DETAIL:
General: especially avoid candy, cake, sugary sweets, chocolate, sweet fruits, and fruit juice and anything that tastes really sweet.  Also, ice cold drinks.  Avoid canned or prepared foods. No alcohol.
Oils: corn, crisco, peanut
Grains: breads, corn, potatoes, rice (remember, quinoa is not a grain so I can have it)
Spices: avoid very hot spices, cayenne pepper, chili, cloves and excess salt
Proteins: peanuts
Fruits:  avoid all except those listed
So this list isn’t hard since I’m already gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, caffeine free and preservative/artifical ingredient free.  Since this allows me all vegetables that they only need to be cooked, I’m still going to limit the goitregins & nightshades.
I am currently a week into this and have no complains.  The herbal multi vitamin did give me some nausea but I stopped taking that 20 minutes before eating, I take it right before I eat, no problems.  I have 2 more weeks to go and he said I should notice more energy after 2 weeks.  I did wake up pain free this morning so thats a plus also!
So, stay tuned!  Please ask any questions.

 

One thought on “Herbalist vs. Hashimoto’s

  1. Pingback: Herbalist vs. Hashimoto’s Take 2 | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

