Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf with Sweet Potato Hash Browns

BACON WRAPPED MEATLOAF with SWEET POTATO HASH BROWNS
(the meatloaf is gluten free, the hash browns are Paleo)
6Bacon Meatloaf Sweetpotato Hashbrowns

Okay, I have been wanting to make bacon wrapped meatloaf for a very long time.  Ever since I saw it on Diners, Drive-Inns & Dives and actually had it at the Standard Diner in Albuquerque NM thanks to the Triple D app ON THE ROAD.  You can never go wrong with using that app.  Anyway, since I’ve had it, I had to figure out how to make it, but for some reason, this was very intimidating to me, so it’s taken me a while to even think about making it.  Well, I did it!  I jumped out of my comfort zone and jumped into 2 pounds of ground meat! LOL!

There is no recipe 😉  just use what you normally use.  If you want to know what I used: ground meat 80/20 (flavor remember, fat makes flavor, plus your meatloaf won’t be dry.  I used gluten free bread crumbs, garlic powder, various spices (which changes every time I cook), an egg to hold it all together and I had some shredded sharp cheese mix opened in the fridge so I tossed that in.  That’s about it.  Hand mixed it all together, formed it into a loaf on a cookie tray with sides, then, wrapped it in bacon!  EASY PEASY!

Baked in a pre-heated 375° over for about an hour or so until bacon is browned.  You’ll know when its done.

1raw Meatloaf 2bacon wrapped meatloaf ready for oven 3baking meatloaf 4Bacon Meatloaf complete 5Meatloaf cut

Also, for a side dish for this dinner my good friend Lexi, gave me this Paleo Sweet Potato Hash Brown recipe she found on Pinterest.  Since I’m not Paleo I added bacon to the topping and bacon grease to the oil and next time I’ll add cheese.

1Mashed sweetpotato n butternut squash 2Eggs for hashbrowns 3batter for hashbrowns 4grated sweetpotato 5hashbrown mixture 6coconut oil bacon drippings 7frying hashbrowns 8Sweet Potato hashbrowns cooking 9Sweet potato hashbrowns 10Hash Browns topped

Ingredients
  1. 4 medium sweet potatoes
  2. 2 eggs, whisked ( got a double yolkier on my 2nd egg thats why there are 3 yolks)
  3. 1/2 cup almond flour
  4. 2 teaspoons sea salt
  5. 1/4 cup green onions, chopped (plus some for garnish)
  6. 1/4 cup coconut oil (I had some bacon grease left in the pan from cooking the extra bacon not used on the meatloaf, so I added the coconut oil to it.  Just added flavor 🙂 )
Instructions
  1. 1. Pierce one of the sweet potatoes with a fork. Wrap it in a damp paper towel and place it in a small bowl with 1/2 inch of water. Microwave for 7-9 minutes, or until tender.(I actually had leftover mashed sweet potatoes/butternut squash in the fridge so I used them)
  2. 2. Let this sweet potato sit for 5 minutes. Then drain the water, peel the potato, and mash it with a fork.
  3. 3. Take the other 3 sweet potatoes and peel them. Then grate them on a box grater using the large holes. In your bowl of grated sweet potatoes(I used my grater on my Kitchen Ade Stand Mixer), add the previous mashed potato, the 2 eggs, almond flour, sea salt, and green onion. Combine with a spoon.
  4. 4. In a skillet (I used cast iron), pour coconut oil and heat over medium until your cast iron is hot. If you have a thermometer, it should read 350 degrees. Then drop in sweet potato “cakes” in about 2-3 tablespoon batches. Flatten them with a spatula. Cook on each side for 5 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. 5. Once cooked, place on a plate with paper towels to drain the oil. Serve HOT!
Leave a Reply

