Today is a Bitter Sweet Day…..

Actually tomorrow will be a bitter sweet day, but todays my last day with my girls.  We have decided that for now we will no longer be raising back yard chickens.  It was a wonderful 4 years and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  We are going though some life changes, nothing serious, but that will be taking allot of our time and won’t be fair to the girls.  Luckily for me, I’m able to rehome most of them to friends.  The older ones are going to have to go to the auction 😦  Please don’t say anything, I’m sad enough.

Fred & his girls

Here are my latest pictures of most of the flock (you can click on them to make them bigger, no need to strain your eyes).  Due to the snow, some of them decided to stay in the hen house, most, did venture out on the path that my hubby made.

Fred and the flock Fred, not happy about walking on the snow Trying to get to the path without walking on the snow Autumn & Sunshine Flying not to touch the snow! Black Cat & Lillie My hubby giving the girls a treat Grey cat  & Lillie Grey Cat hanging with the flock Lilly trying not to walk on the snow The Chicklets

For sure my chickens DO NOT like snow.  My girlfriend Sandy is taking our rooster Fred and 5 of the girls, my girlfriend Pam is taking 2 young hens and little Pokey (Pokey is one of the last hatches and Pam is the one who donated the eggs)  I was hoping that someone would take young Corny, he’s going to be a wonderful friendly rooster, he loves being held, I have an emergency message into another friend with back yard chickens and hoping she can help out.

I will continue to post recipes to my blog and photos of any of our new and upcoming ventures.  So, please stay tuned!

One thought on “Today is a Bitter Sweet Day…..

  1. Pingback: Meet Goliath & His Flock | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

