Meet Goliath & His Flock

Meet Goliath & His Flock

Hello!  I Can’t believe my last post was on May 27th! (Bok Choy Italian Style or Italian Sausage, Gnocchi & Bok Choy) and the last I posted about Buddy’s Flock was on March 9th! (Today is A Bitter Sweet Day….) So, I have allot to catch you up on.  The reason we got rid of Buddy’s Flock was due to me and my hubby traveling for the past 5 months.  We traveled so much it wasn’t going to be fair to the flock with us being away so much.  The last of our travels took us from New Jersey to California, from California to Alaska and from Alaska back home to New Jersey.  Yes, all driving! And my hubby did ALL the driving.  I will get to pictures in another blog, I haven’t even gone through them all yet, we’ve been so busy since we got back home trying to catch up.  We were on the road a few days shy of 8 weeks!

During our travels, driving through allot of farmland, I realized that when we returned home I was again going to get chickens….raise chickens.  When we arrived back home, one of the first things I did in my off time was research chicken breeds.  I knew that I wanted to get Jersey Giants (since being a Jersey Girl and living in Jersey, it can only be right to have some Jersey Giants!), plus I was hoping the size would help deter the hawks???? But I wasn’t sure what colors and if that was the only breed I wanted.  Well, looking into chicks/chicken breeds I found that White Jersey Giants weren’t available, the only available were the black.  No biggie, but I didn’t want a flock of all black chickens (mainly because I like to name them and if they’re all the same kinda hard to tell them apart, that’s just my opinion, but I do like variety and color. When we had all New Hampshire Reds I numbered them because I couldn’t tell them apart)  Anyway, after doing my research, and deciding on breeds, the important traits were size, cold hardy & friendliness, I found the ones that I was interested in and all to be hatched at the same time at My Pet Chicken.  So, I called and spoke to some very friendly folks there, very knowledgeable and ready to help with any questions.  I placed an order, actually on my birthday, for chicks that were going to hatch on August 31 and would be to me by Sept. 2.  That gave me and my hubby time to plan and get ready for them.   So, instead of 1 or 2 breeds, I ordered 6! (Actually 8, my girlfriend, Pam ordered 4 chicks that came in with mine, helps to save on shipping!) LOL!  I couldn’t really make up my mind.  But here’s what I ordered: 1 Black Jersey Giant Rooster- name:Goliath (of course, at this point, we don’t know which one is Goliath), 2 Black Jersey Giant Hens – names: Tillie & Millie 2 Partridge Plymouth Rock hens – names: Sweetie Pie & Honey Bun, 2 Golden Laced Wyandotte hens – not named waiting on feathers, 2 Speckled Sussex hens – Named: Itsy (our little runt) & Bitsy, 2 Easter Egger hens – Not named yet waiting on feathers and 2 White Plymouth Rock hens whom my grandson Tyler named Hope & Grace.  He will also name the 4 that aren’t name yet.

So here’s they’re debut for you!  They were a week old yesterday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Meet Goliath & His Flock

  1. Pingback: Goliaths Flock | Sweet Dreams Creations

Leave a Reply

